Lead Balloon


Snakes
April 10, 2006, 1:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have a morbid fear of snakes – I can't look at them when I go to the zoo, I can't stand those shots on "Survivor" where the snakes are slithering through the trees, I can't play with rubber snakes in toy stores. I hate them. I hate them.

Yesterday, there were three kids standing in a grassy area next to our apartment throwing rocks up in a tree and they yelled up to me, "Want to come see a snake?" My heart sunk and I thought I was going to pass out. This grassy area is where I take Jack every morning and in the evening to go potty outside…We'd just been out there 30 minutes prior and the thought that a snake was there while we were scared me to death – I called for Todd to come outside and I told him what was going on, and of course, he went down there to take part in the action.

Another young pregnant woman who lives on the first floor right next to this grassy area came out, too. She yelled up to me, "We saw another one the other day, except it was much bigger. About *this* long and *this* thick, we took pictures of it!" I asked her, "Where was it?" "Oh, over there on the sidewalk," she said, pointing to a normal piece of concrete that I now consider to be forbidden territory around my own dwelling.

I have no idea how I'm going to let Jack out when Todd's not here, without hyperventilating. I have no idea how I'm going to get to my car each morning without running or counting or doing something to distract myself from the evil serpents that are just lying there, waiting to eat me and swell to 50 times their normal size as they digest my entire being through their long, scaly bodies.

Todd and another man took a long pole and got the snake out of the tree (they can climb trees, people!) and took it to a field about 100 yards away from our apartment. And since Todd wouldn't kill it (I should have known, after he took a bug from a lady's hair in church yesterday and left church to take it outside to freedom), it's going to come back and find refuge in one of the areas that I need as my own sanctuary  from my front door to my car, or to the other grassy field I'm going to start using to take Jack out.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t like snakes either, but don’t seem to a morbid fear of them. It is said that, under most circumstances, snakes–as is true of most wild animals–will actually move away from a human. You’ll be alright.

Check out my blog. People tell me is’s a very peaceful place.

blessings,

shirley

Comment by Shirley

Good thing “Eve” wasn’t so terrified of snakes ; )

Get you some waders or something to wear while walking Jack

Comment by Sam

Just watch where you walk; be aware! They are more scared of you than you are of them!

Comment by Mutha Deah




Leave a Reply

