Lead Balloon


No news is good news?
April 18, 2006, 11:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So far, things are moving along fairly well with the house. We close next Friday. I think we're in a holding pattern – I haven't heard anything from the mortgage guy or the realtor, so I think the really behind-the-scenes people are working their magic.

The one thing I doknow is…the month of May will be spent tearing down wallpaper, measuring countertops and flooring to see what we can afford to replace, fixing plumbing and bad ventilation issues…It's going to be hard work. But I think it will be fun. And, Todd and I are both excited about the opportunity to learn about all this jazz. This weekend, my brother-in-law was responding with, "That's easy!" every time I gave him an item on our "to do" list for the house. I told him, then, to pack his shit and come stay a week and get to work! He's handy, has owned and updated several homes, and unfortunately lives 95 miles from here.

I am beginning to understand the whole idea of buyer's remorse. We've not even signed the papers and I'm already thinking, "Oh…….my……………GOD." Surely this is normal.

I had a great Easter weekend with my family. It was so good to spend more than two days with everyone – my mom's house is so relaxing and comfortable. It was just what we needed. The highlight of the weekend: badminton with my husband. Mom bought us a badminton/volleyball net set and we set it up in the front yard. It's so much fun to find things that we can do together and enjoy. For instance, Todd spent all day yesterday shopping with me. I loved it. He didn't love it so much, but was doing it for me. Some nights, I look at the TV while he's watching hockey. He lovesit. I don't love it so much, but I do it for him. While playing badminton, we were both having the time of our lives – laughing, running around barefoot in the grass, yelling, making fun of each other. We loved it and wished that the house we were about to sign our lives away for had a yard big enough for a badminton net. Oh well, one day…

Look how hard core the sport is. Bet you never knew that.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is a sweet post. Thank you for sharing some of your life with us.

Blessings on your new home…even without a badminton space.

Shirley

Comment by Shirley

it’s even more “hardcore” when playing outside with the wind-factor.

we played again a bit monday night where we were forced to end the match abruptly when Mom busted her @$$ and ate some lawn…now THAT was beautiful.

you want to know about hardcore…ask Mom ; )

Comment by Sam

it was a beautiful “fall”….my knees will never be the same…BUT…Mary and I are improving on our swings by the day!

Comment by Mutha Deah

prescription diet pill

diet doctor phentermine pill

Trackback by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

