Lead Balloon


Post #28
May 9, 2006, 12:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This morning I woke up with a sore throat. Funny how you're never really aware that you have tonsils or that you can feel anything in your throat until it's extremely sore. I'm hoping it's just allergies and that it will be gone by later this afternoon. Otherwise, I haven't penciled in any time for being under the weather. I hope my throat is listening to that as I'm typing this.

This mold thing has turned into quite an extravaganza – an extravaganza that hasn't even fully been put into motion. We're getting an estimate for the repairs today. Clearly, we didn't cause the mold, we've never used the shower or the bathroom, it was obviously there before we moved in. But we've been told that our insurance will surely call it "pre-existing". We've been told that we can go back to the seller, but that he will surely claim that he didn't know it was there, regardless of the obvious crap patch job he did to the tile. So we're going to the inspector for some resolution – we've also been told by several that he did a crap job, too. The problem being that we didn't know he was a bad inspector at the time, we've just never done this before. We should have gotten a second opinion. If we only knew that then. Oh well.

We're bracing for the worst – that the cost of gutting of the shower will come out of our pockets. This means no new countertops in the kitchen, living with ugly linoleum. This makes me mad, but Todd just says, "We've got our own house!" with enthusiasm. He and the house are still BFF's, while the house and I are on a break right now. This is one of the many reasons I married him.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

blame the sore throat on inhaling some black mold spores….and good luck.

Comment by Sam

You’re experiencing one of the worst fears I had when I purchased my home — that there would be something terribly wrong discovered immediately after I’d purchased it. For that, my sister from whom I was separated at birth, I am truly sorry.

You stay on break with the house as long as you need to.

Comment by jen




Leave a Reply

