Lead Balloon


Hippies-ACL-House-Buffalo-Baby
May 18, 2006, 2:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

If that subject line doesn't lure you in, I'm just not sure what will.

The hippies won The Amazing Race!  Todd and I have been cheering for them all along, and last night we were almost in tears when they ran to the finish line. 

I'm starting to realize that I have an obsession with some television shows. And that it just might be the reason for my recent, unexpected weight gain.

The line-up for Austin City Limits was released yesterday. Ben Harper, Damien Rice, Van Morrison, Iron and Wine, Ray Lamontagne, G. Love, Matisyahu, John Mayer. The list goes on, and it's a good list. Needless to say, we'll be there. Last year we bought tickets and didn't go because of the hurricanes and all the evacuations. Then it turned out to be beautiful weather. We're going this year, rain or shine.

In house news…our new refrigerator and dishwasher arrived yesterday.  Two hours late. When you get a couple of new appliances, suddenly your other remaining appliances look like fossils. Stove and microwave next. And floors. And countertops. And maybe some walls.

I'm not sure what's going on with the buffalo, though. Some days they're there. Some days, they're not. On Tuesday night we saw them, and there were two little babies in the group!

Speaking of babies, we are expecting the birth of our godchild to happen any minute now. Meg, the mother, is a week past her due date now. It's her fourth child, the previous three were all way past due as well. She was having some pretty good contractions last night, though, and it all looks promising for today. We've all got bets going on the sex of the baby, as well as the day/time of birth, weight, length, etc. Of course, I've got a chart tracking all the wagers. I'm not sure, but I think I read somewhere in the Book of Common Prayer that it's the godmother's role to encourage gambling in the family. A priest's family, nonetheless.

Happy day, everyone.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We live around a ton of cows and horses and they’re regularly rotated to different fields. I’m guessing it’s so the fields don’t get overeaten/overgrown? Maybe the buffalos have the same routine. I’m not a farmer and have never really been around farms, so I pretty much have no idea what I’m talking about. But I think it’s a good guess.

I’m so glad to hear you guys watch The Amazing Race too. It’s one of our favorite shows, but haven’t talked to anyone else that watches it. We loved the hippies from the start too, and were so happy they won. They always made me laugh with their silliness.

P.S. The word “baby” in the title made me think you were having a baby. You tricker!

Comment by jessie

made me take a deep quick breath too, jessie!

Comment by Mutha Deah




Leave a Reply

