Lead Balloon


Veggie Tales
August 11, 2006, 3:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

For some reason, over the past 2-3 years, I have quit eating fruit. It’s been a slow transition…But when I go to find something to eat, fruit is the LAST thing that I want. I have loved bananas my whole life, now I don’t have a taste for them. Apples? If someone has cut them up nicely and they’re sitting on a plate for snacking (just like Ganga did it), then I’ll have a few bites. I keep trying…And when Todd packs my lunch for me, he always includes some fruit. And one of my co-workers always finishes half of it.

One thing I do love, though, is vegetables. I love squash, corn, broccoli, eggplant, potatoes. I love any kind of pea or bean available.

According to the new Food Guide Pyramid, I need 3-6 servings of vegetables a day. I know for sure that I’m not currently getting this. Of course, I don’t come close to touching the 2-4 servings of fruit a day. But since I don’t like those, I’m turning my focus to the vegetables. This is, after all, my stomach and my life. Not the Department of Health and Human Services’.

food-pyramid.jpg

5-8 glasses of water a day?  I sure hope this counts coffee. There’s water in that.

Anyway, what I’m needing are some good vegetable recipes. Maybe a veggie mix of some kind, maybe you really like the way you season and grill your veggies, or maybe you have a recipe for a great salad.  If so, send it to me. I need to add more to my book.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So how many dogs do you have today? Just curious as to whether I have any more canine neices or nephews.
I do have a great squash and zuchini recipe, I’ll have to send it to you.

Comment by Big Sis

Just Jack and Lily for now.

Send that recipe on, sista!

Comment by leadballoon

Not so much a recipe, but here’s a veggie sandwich I get alot at the cafe:

Flat bread
Red pepper humus
Fresh spinach
artichokes
cucumbers
black olives
tomatos
feta cheese
w/tzatziki sauce

For a recipe on tzatziki sauce, click here.

Comment by Jen

I’d love to get that squash and zuchinni recipe too, if you don’t mind sharing it. 🙂

I think my favorite part about this post is, “And when Todd packs my lunch for me…” How cute!

Comment by jessie

quit cold turkey

resolution stop smoking

Trackback by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

