Lead Balloon


Da Plane
August 29, 2006, 1:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am headed back to Dallas from California today, and I must admit, flying is, for the first time in my life, making me a bit anxious. All of these rules and new guidelines to follow – I get anxious at security because I start to panic a little bit that I might have left some lotion or chapstick in my purse and I’m going to be directed to a room where I’ll have to remove all my clothes and be given a full body cavity search. 

Then when I actually get on the plane, and I wonder if our pilot is 100% sure which runway to use. Yesterday during take off, I thought we sped down the runway a little longer than normal, which made me think, “Are we going to actually get off the ground? We sure are going fast! Maybe we’re going to just run right into a field…or what if we DO get off the ground and can’t stay up??”

During yesterday’s take off, I looked up from my Sudoku puzzle (yes, another addiction! yay!) and thought, “I hope that Todd knows that if anything ever happens to me, I want him to marry again and have children. He’s going to be such a wonderful father.” 

SICK! That’s SICK!

I used to fall asleep before take off, and be able to sleep straight through the landing. There have been times when people have had to wake me up to get off the plane. Not anymore – they’re too cheap to give you a damned pillow.

During yesterday’s flight, I looked out the window most of the time, past the jet engine that I was convinced was making an eerie sound, down on Arizona. What is Arizona, exactly? Lots of sand and hills and dry nothing.

Anyway, I’m headed back today and am hopeful that I can get back into my ease of flying. I need to get it together before my flight on September 11.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yes, that’s a bit sick. However, it’s good to communicate those things with your husband…so he has some sense of “peace” w/ his future decisions in that type of scenario (if that were to occur) [superstiously knocks on wood]. I of course am a “head-case” every time I fly (so I really can’t say anything)….so I’ll just refer to the “other Matthew” in verse 6:34. Even though the text is regarding “tomorrow” it is fitting/meant for any worrying at all.
***go in peace***

Comment by Sam

xanax

Comment by hammock love

I need a little sedative here and again.

Good news from the other Matthew.

Comment by leadballoon

wonder how many of us actually looked up “6:34″…I did. Good news from the one with “one T” also…I am glad that I didn’t remember you were flying this week….

Comment by Mutha Deah

Pretty nice site, wants to see much more on it! :)-pharma

Comment by http://hometown.aol.com/xyi111




Leave a Reply

