Lead Balloon


Possession
September 21, 2006, 8:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

In college, I was a huge fan of Sarah McLachlan. I still love her music, even though I forget to listen to it from time to time. For years at a stretch, actually. But today, I purchased her “iTunes Original” because there are so many songs on some of her earlier albums that I’ve often wondered about – what is their meaning? What was her inspiration to write that? That’s what I love about the “iTunes Originals”, they explain it. Greatness.

So read these lyrics:

Listen as the wind blows
From across the great divide
Voices trapped in yearning
Memories trapped in time
The night is my companion
And solitude my guide
Would I spend forever here
And not be satisfied

And I would be the one
To hold you down
Kiss you so hard
I’ll take your breath away
And after I’d wipe away the tears
Just close your eyes dear

Through this world I’ve stumbled
So many times betrayed
Trying to find an honest word
To find the truth enslaved
Oh you speak to me in riddles and
You speak to me in rhymes
My body aches to breathe your breath
You words keep me alive

And I would be the one
To hold you down
Kiss you so hard
I’ll take your breath away
And after I’d wipe away the tears
Just close your eyes dear

Into this night I wander
It’s morning that I dread
Another day of knowing of
The path I fear to tread
Oh into the sea of waking dreams
I follow without pride
Nothing stands between us here
And I won’t be denied

And I would be the one
To hold you down
Kiss you so hard
I’ll take your breath away
And after I’d wipe away the tears
Just close your eyes dear
The biggest shocker on “meaning” was this song, Possession. It’s about a stalker. It was therapyfor her, in a way, to write a song about a serious, scary, stalker situation. (She didn’t use the alliteration in her explanation like I just did, that’s my gig, as LLL.)  It just never has sounded stalker-ish to me. But then again, I can be literal. And that’s not good when it comes to lyrics and poetry and such.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

