Lead Balloon


Funk and Update
December 11, 2006, 3:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have been in a funk lately. I don’t know why, maybe it’s PMS. But the smallest of things get to me, and I make them bigger than they are. Then I think to myself, “But that IS big! You should be upset!”, then I think, “You are a crazy person.” Perhaps I am dealing with multiple personalities and I don’t know it yet. That, and I’m convinced that I have mouth cancer. It’s either mouth cancer, or the pointed end of one too many Hershey kisses poked the roof of my mouth too hard and bruised it. Or again, mouth cancer.

I had a good weekend. My mom and stepdad came in on Saturday and installed a new garage door opener for us. So exciting! My car is in the garage right now, all warm and protected from the elements. While the boys did the installation, my mom and I got to spend some time together shopping and “fingering the goods” as some might say. Such a weird phrase. And kind of gross. Anywho, it was a wonderful day and we are very thankful for the gift they brought and installed for us.

Later Saturday, my friend Kelly, who I never see and miss very much, came over with her 17 month old son. It was great to see them, and to see how much he has grown. He terrorized Jack the entire time he was here, trying to “ride” him, pulling his hair. The only part Jack liked was the fact that the little one gives open-mouth kisses, and Jack was able to french kiss him all night long. Oh, what a treat. We chatted, caught up, ate dinner and it was time for them to leave. How is it that such a close friend can live in the same metroplex area, and you never can find time to see each other? The answer is that it takes work, and we need to work harder.

The new job is going well. I knew when I took the job that it’d be more travel than I’m accustomed to, and the travel has already started. I’m in Massachusetts most of this week – why we can’t find clients in Hawaii, I’ll never know.

This weekend I added some neat things to my Christmas tree – stars made of pine cones and bird houses – for the birds, of course! And my sister sent us a *perfect* ornament for the tree – it’s a “New Home – 2006” ornament in the shape of a bird house. It’s lovely. But I can’t help but think, every time I add something to the tree, “Man, this is going to take forever to take this shit down.” Is that the spirit? I don’t think so. But still, I put up a smaller, mini-tree in the entry as well. I just keep putting the stuff out.

I hope everyone is having a good Monday thus far, and has a wonderful week.

PS – My friend Will has a blog now, linked to the left. He’ll need to update it and actually add content in order for you to enjoy it, though.  🙂

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ahhh…Jack’s open-mouthed kisses. i hope he’s been eating candy canes 😉

Comment by Sam

YUCK…me too…and not “bathing”

Comment by mutha deah




Leave a Reply

