Lead Balloon


To each, her own.
January 17, 2007, 11:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday I was driving in the car, on my way to meet some friends for lunch. For most of my drive, I was behind a woman in a yellow SUV, who had Mickey Mouse paraphernalia ALL over her car. A license plate cover that said, “I LOVE MICKEY”. A huge sticker on the back window of Mickey in a pose much like the one the Kool-Aid man makes as he smashes through someone’s wall. (God knows I hope the Kool-Aid guy never comes to my house, I’ll send him an invoice for that kind of destruction. All of that for a 15 cent gallon of Kool-Aid?) She had a Mickey Mouse antenna ball – his little head just bopping around. And I think, although I’m not certain, that she had on a Mickey sweatshirt.

Maybe she works for Disney. Or maybe she just loves Mickey that much. And if she does, that’s great! It’s so good to love something. I just thought it was quite fascinating. We all know how intrigued I am by people’s car decor in general. But this was a lot, the amount of stuff on the vehicle devoted to one cartoon mouse.

I need to just start paying closer attention to the road.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

how old was this lady? depending on her “generation” – she may have grown up with the Disney Channel being her baby sitter….OR….she had a big crush on one of the members of “The Party” from the MickeyMouseClub that she just never get over (aka: out-grow) ๐Ÿ˜‰ speaking of…did you ever get over your crush w/ them. i’m gonna have to Google “The Party” to find some old pics. i haven’t though of them in years.

Comment by Sam

what the hell is “the party”?

this woman was in her 40’s, I believe.

She just loves Mickey. I guess in the same way that I love my dog.

Comment by leadballoon

i’m trying to find some information on them. here’s some from wikipedia:

“In the late 1980s the Disney Channel revived, for a second time, its popular series the New Mickey Mouse Club. The show became a big success with the pre-teen and teen crowd. At the same time teen acts such as New Kids On The Block were all the rage. Disney, it seems, felt the need to create its own teen act. Members were chose from the then current cast members. The five chosen were Damon Pampolina, Albert Fields, Tiffini Hale, Chase Hampton and Deedee Magno. As anticipation began to arise for this new act, the Disney Channel even held a “name the band contest” and the final name chosen was The Party.”

from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Party_%28music_group%29

Comment by Sam

I really don’t remember that. But I’m sure that if it was compared to NKOTB, then I was into it.

Comment by leadballoon

it may have just been a crush of mine on “the party” that i’m still dealing w/ – i think i remember the girls being pretty hot.

Comment by Sam

Ummm Mickey Mouse? I have a thing for Tinkerbell but not all over my car!

Comment by Windfall Woman

i have a thing for Tinkerbell too…but probably not in the same manner ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by sam




Leave a Reply

