Lead Balloon


To each, his own.
January 20, 2007, 1:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hoping to win tickets to the All-Star hockey game next week, Todd and his friend Sean are standing in the cold rain at American Airlines Center to register for an in-line skating competition. As I’m typing this, it’s still dark outside and not even 7:00 am. They clearly have suffered some sort of blow to the head. Who wants to skate for 6 or 7 miles in the freezing rain? I just hope they come home without any sort of major head injury or broken bones. And for them, I hope they win the tickets. Is there anything you love so much? I can’t think of anything that I want so badly that I might stand and/or skate in the rain for – for several hours. I mean, what’s the likelihood of someone giving away free hardwood floors to the person who can win an outdoor in-line skating competition in the rain? The things I love just don’t require much more than some hard earned cash – so I work hard for the money.

Speaking of work…I’m up already, so I figured I would start getting ready for my trip next week. It’s an all-weeker. I leave Monday morning and don’t get back until Friday evening. That’s a long trip to pack for – so I was awake at 5:00 am this morning, staring at the ceiling, putting clothing ensembles together in my mind for each day. In the end, I determined that I might need to do some shopping today. My current wardrobe isn’t very ensemble friendly. This nasty weather makes me feel like the best thing to do is stay home in my pajamas. But I’ve got things to do, money to spend.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I would not stand out in weather like that for ANYTHING. Not even a windfall.

Comment by Windfall Woman

i would probably stand out in some pretty nasty weather for a number of things i like…but i wouldn’t skate in a competition to “win” any of those number of things…cuz i suck hardcore at skating. i’ll challenge anybody in a napping competition though.

Comment by Sam




Leave a Reply

