Lead Balloon


Luckey Baby Update – 12 weeks, 2 days, 3 hours, 14 minutes.
March 16, 2007, 2:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We have had more sonograms with our first trimester of pregnancy than most women have in the entire course of pregnancy. There was a change in doctors, some perceived complications…but all is well now and I’m finally glad to report the pregnancy and share with you some pictures of the Luckey baby in utero.

8 weeks…
Not much to see here. The live shot showed us the heartbeat for the first time, although we were still unable to hear it. Just a tiny little thing.
Luckey Baby 8 weeks

10.5 weeks…
We were shocked to see this one. After seeing only a tiny blob with a heartbeat, we were amazed to see this baby jumping around and moving its arms and legs like crazy. Todd thought at one point, it gave him the “peace” sign. It could have totally meant “Victory”, though.
Luckey Baby 10.5 weeks

12 weeks…
Today’s sonogram was performed by a perinatologist, who was supposed to have a fancier sonogram machine. I can’t really tell that the shot is better, but again, we saw the baby moving those arms like crazy, with a nice, strong heartbeat. Unfortunately, Todd couldn’t make it to this appointment because of work, but we got this complete sonogram on tape for our viewing pleasure later. I also heard the baby’s heartbeat for the first time today.
Luckey Baby 12 weeks

It’s truly amazing. I’ve seen hundreds of sonograms while working for an OB/GYN throughout college. But it’s just not the same when it’s your own. I’ve heard those heartbeats before…but today it was pretty amazing. You likely will not enjoy these photos at the level that I do, but I wanted to share and document nonetheless. For example, it might just look like a blob of a baby surrounded by a bunch of maggots, or a very big brain – that’s what my brother sees.

The first trimester of pregnancy was not kind to me, however it wasn’t as bad for me as it is for most women. I had no morning sickness, excluding that one incident in North Carolina. I’ve had all the normal pregnancy symptoms – tiredness and fatigue especially. I’ve not been crying at the drop of a hat, but then again, I am really not one to cry anyway. I do cry at the conclusion of every “Baby Story” episode when the baby is born and the new daddy is crying. Who doesn’t cry at that?

My emotions have been roller coaster-like though. Not so much sad as scared…and with a temper. Some might say I’ve even been a little “negative”. I agree. But I knew all along that once I made it to this point…where I felt at ease with the pregnancy…that it wouldn’t be taken away from me so easily…that I’d feel better. And I do. I feel like I’m allowed to be excited now. Bloodwork is good, sonograms look good, check-ups going okay…I will sleep like a rock tonight.

No one prepares you for the really weird stuff that happens. Even the baby Web sites don’t give ALL the information up…I’d write about it here, but I’m afraid too many of you would officially quit reading. The biggest surprise to me is the lack of control that you truly have over your life and body. First, the food aversions…those foods which I loved so much prior to becoming pregnant sound about as appetizing as a plate of dog shit. How that happens, I will never know. But it’s true. The way your body changes, and how fast it all happens. There’s all this cramping, which scares you to death…little random pains all over the place, and then the stretching of muscles that are not intended to stretch that way. Don’t even get me started on the boobs. I can just say – these are not my boobs.

Anyway – it’s all coming together. We’re not finding out the sex of the baby, so we have the stress of coming up with two names prior to the delivery. Unfortunately we don’t agree on many of the names we’ve got on the list for boys or girls so far. This could quite honestly turn into a group vote, or we could end up throwing darts at them on the wall. The names we do like, we’ve already given to our animals…so there’s some work to do there.

Mostly I’m thankful that even though I have been a maniacal pig for the past three months…my husband still loves me and takes very good care of me. He’s a saint, really. And he’ll be such a better parent than me, he’s just so patient and kind. I can learn a lot from him.

Stay tuned!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m just so excited I can’t wait. It’s so neat to see all the sonograms in progression like that–seeing the little Luckey hostage grow and grow. Truly so amazing. I am so very excited for you guys. You’ll both be magical parents.

Comment by Mary

Congrats on the baby, LB!!! And yes, I know its not LB anymore but that’s still your nickname to me. 🙂 You’ll make a fine Mommy.

Comment by skaines

Thanks, Mary and Jonathan!
Skaines – what is UP with you? Where have you been?

Comment by leadballoon

A Luckey Baby! I’m so happy for you both. You should write a post to get baby names idea.

Comment by Windfall Woman

i am with you WFW!

Comment by Mutha Deah




Leave a Reply

