Lead Balloon


Today is not a good day.
March 22, 2007, 7:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night, sometimes in the morning, with a little work-related anxiety. Anxious because I have to travel three out of the four weeks in April. And I’m not excited about it. My anxiety comes from the knowledge that while I’m on these trips, the work doesn’t stop – it will feel like 24 hour work days for almost an entire month. And I’m just not looking forward to it. That, and, I’ve been dealing with some personalities at my new job I’d not anticipated. Doesn’t make me a happy camper.

This morning, I woke up the same way, feeling anxious. I popped out of bed and started work early, and plan to really knock some stuff out today, if for no other reason than to chip off, piece by piece, this mound of anxiety that is sitting on top of me.

Then I went to make myself some cereal. I poured my granola into the bowl, and sliced the banana on top of it. And there was only a drop of milk left in the container. At first, I thought this might send me over the edge…because I’d already gotten up on the wrong side of the bed (I didn’t even mention the stomach issues that are the true culprit for my early morning awakening). Typically I don’t “snap” very easily, but these hormones, people…are taking over my body. Todd shared with me the milk left from his bowl of granola. While normally this would gross me out to no end (milk that had been poured over someone else’s cereal, a while ago?), I took it and planned to take it upstairs and enjoy my breakfast over the development of yet another Information Architecture.

But before I headed upstairs…I decided I needed to use the downstairs bathroom quickly. So I walked into the bathroom, and the toilet seat looks black. Like it has black smudges all over it. I yelled for Todd to come in and look at it, and because he’s a guy and more intuitive about this stuff than me, he looked up. I looked up. There above the toilet, surrounding the light fixture, was a leak. Water. Old water nasty spot. UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. This bathroom sits directly beneath our master bathroom. You remember? The one where we had to gut and replace the shower completely???? The one we spent tons of money on before we were ever able to move into this house???? The one with the black mold????

Well, we went upstairs to check it out. At the entry to the shower, there is still some linoleum that isn’t tacked down really tightly – simply because tiling the bathroom has been next on the list (for months). Todd reached down and pulled it up a bit. MORE. BLACK. MOLD.

How is this possible? The whole damned shower has been ripped out and replaced and re-tiled. There is no drainage issue. It’s clearly a plumbing issue. And how does one get into the floor and ceiling between those two bathrooms to fix it? Is it a plumber? Then we have to hire a drywall guy to patch it all up? Then I guess a tile guy to come in and fix the flooring? I cannot possibly get my arms around how complicated this thing can be, but I know for certain that it will be. And it will be expensive.

All I can think of…is that I want to get out of this house.
And I wasted a big bowl of granola with bananas, because now I really don’t have the appetite for it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

YUCK. Black mold. I’m so sorry.

Comment by Windfall Woman




Leave a Reply

