Lead Balloon


Full Bloom
April 23, 2007, 1:05 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Spring is officially here. Some days, it feels like full-on summer. But things are looking up. (Translation: I don’t have to wear long sleeves anymore and can move to my all-flip-flop, all-the-time routine.) I love warm weather.

Today I was fortunate to meet my best friend Kelly for lunch. We RARELY get to do this. Both of us work from home, you’d think that it’s something we could easily pull together. But we’re both so busy lately. Seems that we always are. But, we made time to meet today and it was a great break in my workday, I made a mental note to do it more often. If for no other reason, to get out of the house. True, I’m on the road a lot. But if I’m home for a full week, it’s possible for me not to go anywhere for days, not even leave the house. Part of that is because I’m so thankful to be home.

As I drove up into our driveway after lunch I noticed the magnolias on the tree in our front yard blooming. It’s such a beautiful tree, and I love magnolias because they only bloom on a few choice spots on the tree. The tree isn’t covered in blooms – they’re just here and there, as if they’ve thought long and hard about which area of the tree they’re going to beautify for the spring. And the blooms are so big. I’m looking out the window now and seeing where more magnolias are going to appear over the next few days…I can’t wait.

magnolia.jpg

magnolia2.jpg

Todd has spent every spare nice-weather moment in our yard, cleaning it up, planting flowers, making new flower beds, growing grass. It is looking great, he’s really got a green thumb. And that’s good, because the one house plant that is my responsibility is dying a slow, painful death right now. Yesterday he planted caladiums, my favorite. I can’t wait to see them bloom.

Also in full bloom – me. I went from a week of being able to fit into my regular clothes okay, to not being able to stand them at all. Unbuttoning, unzipping in public places – something I’ve always found to be disgusting from people who’ve eaten too much or whose pants are just too tight, period. Yesterday before starting laundry and getting the kitchen good and clean, I went upstairs to put some shorts on. Surprise, surprise, none of them fit. I went into the maternity clothes drawer (insert scary music here), pulled out a pair of shorts, put them on, and felt…relief. I was so shocked! They fit me, and why hadn’t I done this sooner? It’s because I didn’t want to be over-anxious or too on top of things, I wanted to put it off until the last minute. But it was worth it, and today I’m wearing some cute maternity capri pants that fit so comfortably that I might just sleep in them. I thought seriously about sleeping in those shorts last night. That’s how good they feel.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I spent most work days in capri maternity pants the summer I was pregnant (three years ago, can you believe?). Also, I had a great pair of maternity jeans from Motherhood. They were totally worth the $50.

Comment by jen

1. Cannot believe it’s been three years!!!! Holy moly. We need some new pictures, I do believe.
2. Thankfully, I’ve got a FEW pairs of Motherhood jeans that have been handed down to me by friends and family – never have I been so thankful for the hand-me-downs…

Comment by Lauri

There’s nothin’ like hand-me-down maternity clothes AND baby clothes!

Comment by Mutha Deah

Check out MySpace for recent pics of the boy.

Comment by jen




Leave a Reply

