Lead Balloon


Beached Whale
July 16, 2007, 10:37 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This weekend, we were supposed to be out of town again – to Houston for a friend’s baby shower. Todd changed his mind earlier in the week about going, and I’m quite glad he did. This has nothing to do with the fact that Houston is my least favorite town in Texas. Which it is. My least favorite place to visit in the state of Texas. It’s unfortunate that most of my college girlfriends live there. It has to do with the fact that we’ve been going NON STOP for several weeks now, and I was in need of some major down time.

And down time is exactly what we had. Even though our expert meteorologists predicted rain on Saturday, we pulled a pool day out of it and floated around the pool, soaked up some sun all afternoon. Our friends Mary and Albert were able to join us and it was just, overall, a very good and relaxing day. Before that, Todd was able to clean up some of the yard work debris that had been building and building over the past few weeks and I was able to do some cleaning and organizing in the house. Man, that type of thing just feels so good. To get organized, lists made, messes cleaned.

(A side note here about cleanliness and organization. How can two people create such messes? I understand that I am a little militant about things being clean – Todd reminds me of this all the time – but seriously, how does it happen??? I feel like I’m picking up and cleaning all the time. This is honestly my biggest fear right now about having this baby – that the messes and clutter will just increase. I know for a fact it will. I just fear how I will handle that…And no, “letting go” isn’t an option. That’s like telling me to change my eye color or the length of my legs. I have a need for things to be clean, or else I get very anxious and uneasy. Clutter has a physical and mental effect on me…I’ve tried years to change it, but it’s never going to change. And I’m not medicating myself over it, that’s for sure.) Anyway, back to the weekend summary.

Sunday, we FINALLY had someone over to install our shower glass. Not new shower glass, the same old stuff that we took down to repair the shower. I believe it was back in April that we first discovered the major leak/mold issue with the shower. It’s the middle of July now. That’s four months of not using our master bath shower. I’m so glad to have that thing up – I don’t care if it’s not the color of metal I want or style I want, at this point, it’s a working shower and that’s all that matters. While the guys were here installing the glass, we worked together in the kitchen. First I made blueberry muffins…Then I started preparing a really good marinade for chicken fajitas. Todd made himself a nice little egg white omelette with potatoes, peppers and onions. We finished all the other prep work for the fajitas, loaded it up and headed to his parents’ house to use the pool again all afternoon.

I discovered a particular type of pool float that enables me to lie on my stomach in the water. I can’t tell you how relaxing this is. I can tell you that each time I was rolled over onto my big belly into the water, I would immediately fall asleep for a minute or two. Man, I miss sleeping on my tummy. Only about 1o more weeks until “tummy time” for me!

Also this weekend we worked to find Todd a Nintendo Wii. We tried lots of tricks and techniques recommended to us by store owners or Wii enthusiasts. These things have been out since, what, November? And still no stores have them – when they get them, they’re sold within 10 minutes. Ridiculous. My question is – did Nintendo just not prepare for the popularity of this thing? Wouldn’t they WANT to mass produce more of them to make more money? I work in marketing and I honestly can’t see the value of making people wait, or in keeping them OFF the shelves. It causes more phone calls and chaos for the retailers. I just don’t get it. But I know we want it.

That was our weekend. I hope yours was nice, too.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m a bit of a neat freak myself (understatement) but two things helped me adjust after R was born:

1) I got a maid. You’ve already done that; you’re one step ahead of the game!

2) Seriously, you’re going to be so in love with your child that you won’t be nearly as concerned with the clutter, the swings, toys, etc. that come along with a baby. Not that you will be completely carefree, but it will naturally tone itself way down. Trust me. It’s just part of being in love.

Comment by jen

Thanks, Jen.

Comment by leadballoon




Leave a Reply

