Lead Balloon


A Churchy Weekend for the Luckeys
January 14, 2008, 11:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We had yet another busy, busy weekend. On Saturday we drove to my hometown for my great Aunt’s funeral which was held in the church I attended when I was a kid. Lots of memories in that church, including going there with my grandmother, who was on the Altar Guild, to prepare the church for mass on Sunday when I was a little girl. I remember sitting on the floor of the sacristy and eating several pieces of the “host”. Unblessed, of course. The last time I was in that church, it was for my grandmother’s funeral. The place still smells the same, looks the same, feels the same.

My aunt’s memorial was truly a beautiful service – you could tell she directed every piece of it – the hymns, the readings. Beginning with the beautiful music her grandchildren played as you entered the church and ending with a bagpiper playing “Amazing Grace” as we all filed out of the church and entered the columbarium where her ashes were placed. I don’t know of anyone else who could have directed and orchestrated such a beautiful service as Aunt Jane. We’ll all miss her for sure.

We drove back Saturday night to prepare for Natalie’s baptism on Sunday. It, too, was a lovely service and she was perfect throughout – no crying or fussing through the service or the baptism itself. She doesn’t seem to mind the “bells and smells” that accompany a high mass…I was so proud, and relieved! She’s really such a good, good baby. We’re so fortunate, in so many ways. Friends and family brought food for a great reception after the service – overall it was a great day for us as a family to share the time with our loved ones. Pictures below…

Natalie’s Godparents

Luckey Family – Baptism

Mama and Nat

Natalie – Bejeweled

I hope the photos come through, and I hope you also had a nice weekend.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yep, Uncle Dan got his fill of Church as well! The pictures are great (of course the subject is just beautiful)!

Comment by Big Sis

She’s so cute!

Comment by jen




Leave a Reply

