Lead Balloon


Fasting
February 20, 2008, 7:06 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m sitting here, starving. I have to do a fasting cholesterol check this morning at 8:30. And this is torture! I can smell Todd brewing the delicious coffee we bought at Sprouts last weekend, down in the kitchen. I can even hear him opening and closing the refrigerator door (likely getting Natalie’s bottles ready for the day), but all it makes me think about is the milk…sitting there, so innocently, in the door of the fridge…it’s the same milk that goes into my coffee, all swirly and milky and turning my coffee just the right color and temperature. And just a few feet away from that is the pantry…where the granola bars are…my morning staple.

An 8:30 am lab appointment might not seem too bad to most of you, especially those of you who don’t even roll out of bed until 7:00 or so…But for me, the person who wakes up at 4:59 am every morning to the sweet sounds of a baby angel girl lying in her crib, talking to the crib and the animals on the mobile above her…the minutes between 4:59 am and 8:30 am are killing me this morning. Really, I’m only making this post this morning to distract myself. If I’m suddenly “rushed” to get out the door here in a little while then the hunger won’t be nagging at me so much. The fear of being late will. That’s just how it works.

The real torture will be this: I’m taking my “to-go” cup of coffee with me. I’m going to prepare it and take it with me, even into the doctor’s office, and right into the lab…so that as soon as that blood is drawn, I will enjoy the sweet goodness of that cup of heavenly coffee. Then I will pull the granola bar out of my pocket, tear into it, and devour it, right there in the place where peoples’ bodily fluids are extracted into small vials for testing. Right where even the people who WORK there all day wear all kinds of latex on their bodies to protect themselves from the funk that might be living in someone’s blood. I’m going to enjoy my coffee and granola bar, right there in that seat. And it will be glorious.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very entertaining, you made me smile many times. I am not one for long hours without food, I was born hungry and have never really stopped being hungry, I can tell you that… your blog is awesome.

Comment by glasswing




Leave a Reply

