Lead Balloon


Coffee
April 11, 2006, 2:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We were out of coffee this morning. Which doesn't matter much to Todd, since he gave it up for Lent, but for me, I really needed it. I don't normally need it. But lately I do. So I went to Starbucks drive-thru on my way to work. Now, I'm not a fan of Starbucks. I've never really loved their coffee, but in a pinch, it will do. When I'm in one of those pinches, I usually order this delicious coffee that is something-something dolce latte or something. I never know the name. I just throw out "dolce latte" to them and they get it.

Well today they didn't have it. They've discontinued it. So I had to scramble and find another drink on the menu that I was willing to try. Found one, and as always, I asked them to leave a little room at the top, and top it off with some skim milk. Of course, they have to correct me and say "non-fat milk". Whatever. I need the non-fat milk in there to cool off the coffee. I don't like it hot, but I like it warm. Then they go into this long explanation about how they can actually make the drink cooler than the normal 160 degrees or someshit, 140 degrees, something. I'm in a hurry, so while this sounds like great customer service, it sounds like a big delay to me. "No, just please top it off with some non-fat milk and we're good."

They hand me my drink and somehow, in the trip the cup takes from the drive-thru window to my cup holder, some foamy milk stuff gets on my steering wheel, my hand and my jeans. I smeared it into the wheel, my hand and jeans, because I didn't have a napkin. I get to the office and as I'm walking in, I'm spilling this coffee all over my toes (wearing flip-flops, of course.)  How can Starbucks, the king of coffee, not have cups and lids that work the right way?  As in, keeping coffee and foamy stuff in the cup unless you've turned it up to drink it?

(I decided not to write about the conversation with the chick at the window who explained to me that she actually charged me for the wrong drink, which was cheaper, and she wasn't sure if she needed me to pay more…)

Anyway – it's been a rough morning. It's not really about the coffee. It's about not being able to find my 2004 W2, leaving the house much later than I wanted, the apartment being messy, not making it to the dry cleaners, needing to buy groceries, etc., etc., etc.

And, it's about paying as much for one cup of coffee as it costs to buy a bag of coffee beans which will last me a couple of weeks or so. 


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Isn’t crazy how much a cup of coffee can cost?

I think you should have tried to convince the window-chick that she needed to pay *you* for having to deal with her.

And thank you for reminding me about my dry cleaning, I keep forgetting!

Comment by j

24-ounce 7-11 Hazelnut with a pinch of steamed milk and about seven Splendas. Heaven. And about half the cost.

Comment by Mary

If in case you are looking for a fillable w2 form; I was able to get a copy from PDFfiller. It also allowed me to fill out the form, e-sign and print. Here’s the link to the form I’ve used: http://goo.gl/4bRUyt

Comment by Jill Rivas




Leave a comment